Colcha colcha colcha

I’ve been slacking in the posting department lately. It’s not even that I have nothing to talk about. I’m actually working on a bunch of different projects. It’s just that when I get home from work during the week, I feel like this…

Aaaaanyway. I was recently invited to participate in a Colcha collaboration. I am very excited about this. My group consists of 5 local crafters who are each creating crocheted panels with a common theme. These panels will be joined into a big colcha (blanket). Once our colcha is complete, we are submitting it to be included in a national exhibition!

It’s been an incredibly rewarding exercise. Lately, I’ve been working off of patterns a lot and while enjoyable, it’s not terribly creative. I took a free-form approach to my first panel and I am really happy with the way it is coming along.

I had a couple of unsuccessful starts. It took a little while to visualize how I was going to approach the first panel. I had a clear idea in my head at first, but as I moved along, it transformed several times. I finally decided to not overthink and just move along with the piece. And that wound up being the best strategy.

I’m meeting with some of the other girls today to share panels and discuss the project going forward. I hope to get some pics to share with you!

On Instagram/ Instagrid? Me too: christinaalessi.

One thought on “Colcha colcha colcha

Leave a Reply

