Fashion show…

Shopping for clothes is hands-down my favorite thing to do. I love picking through racks and putting outfits together. Had I figured out my serious passion for this earlier, maybe I would have pursued a career in fashion. Correction. I’ve always know the passion… I just had a bit of a motivation problem as a young adult. Past tense. Past tense. Past tense. Mantra.

Anyway, as much as I love shopping, I tend to do it a little too often. Last April, I challenged myself to not buy ANYTHING new for a whole month. I’m gonna try it again this year.

The fact is, I have a lot of clothes. Every time I do laundry I inevitably come across a piece I’ve forgotten about and truly become excited about what I’m going to wear it with next. I set up a camera in my closet to document some of the outfits I put together. (Nerd? Weirdo?)

So I’m going to be sharing some of these pictures periodically. Forgive the clutter and my dumb poses. I am no model. I’m just a nerdy weirdo who loves clothes.

I wore this to a roller derby bout a couple of weeks ago. What a FUN night! Can’t wait for the next one.
DSC_0140

One of my oldest and dearest friends (Bev) gave me that skirt last year. I wear it ALL the time. ALLLLLL the time. Come to think of it, I got those shoes while visiting her in Boston… many, many years ago. 15? Oh man.

I wore this dress to NJ’s premier Chinese-Tiki-Karaoke venue. I’m not making this up.
DSC_0118

I actually got this dress at Kohls. It’s great for almost any occasion. You can dress it up or down and most importantly, it’s super comfortable. I think I wore this with tights, Docs (also ancient), some tights and my favorite necklace – also from Bev!  She spoils me rotten. I have to say that I was relishing being back in 90’s mode. I totally would have worn this in high school. Actually, I had somehthing really similar. (And look at that little squirrel dog in the background. I love him.)

This is a work outfit.
DSC_0141

I got that adorable belt at one of my favorite vintage shops. She always has a great selection and incredibly reasonable prices. If you’re ever in the Montclair area, you must stop by.Those are the shoes I mentioned a few posts ago. They are so comfortable and go with so many things. Hooray!

This is a favorite Sunday outfit. Great for breakfast at the diner, reading, relaxing and maybe a household chore or two.
DSC_0101
There’s that skirt again. Cozy wool leggings and moccasins. They’re like walking on fuzzy clouds.

So there you have it! That was really fun.

2 thoughts on “Fashion show…

Leave a Reply

