What Would Joan Do?

What Would Joan Do?For my first What Would Joan Do post, I’d like to pay homage to the infamous pencil necklace. I am so intrigued by this piece of jewelry. So classy. So functional! Mad Men fans know that it’s been a mainstay in Joan’s workplace wardrobe throughout the series. I was pleased to see that Joan circa Season 4 will carry on the tradition!

Season 1:

Season 2:

Season 3:

Season 4:

Source (1-4): AMC.com

Much to my surprise and delight, I was able to find some vintage and/ or handmade pencil necklaces on Etsy. They range in price from $5 up to $45. Unique AND affordable! Hooray!

Get the look!

Source: Anothers Treasure


Source: Starlet Styles


Source: Bleu Eclectic

Source: Owliday Inn

Which one is your favorite?

P.S. – Don’t forget to check out my What Would Joan Do apparel on Zazzle.com!

3 thoughts on “What Would Joan Do?

  1. Ok, numero uno: I was walking by Banana Republic this morning and I saw THIS http://madmencastingcall.amctv.com/ and thought of you immediately. I’m assuming you’re already working on it.

    Numero dos: I still havent ever seen Mad Men BUT, pencil necklaces always remind me of how Corey used to wear a pen around his neck all over the Muffin and we’d make fun of him relentlessly. When I saw your post I literally LOLed.

    1. 1. I did see that but oddly have not entered. Maybe I will… hmmm… what to wear.
      2. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAAHHAHAHA I totally remember that pen. It was yellow I believe? Or white? Either way it was definitely his signature item.
      When are you going to watch Mad Men? Do I have to get a box of wine, the DVDs and kidnap you for a weekend? Don’t make me do it. Actually… yes, make me do it.

Leave a Reply

