Quinoa and Quorn

This is a quick and easy vegetarian meal perfect for any time of day. I make it at a few times a week!

DSC_0024

Quinoa with Quorn, peppers and onions.

Quinoa is a seed related to the spinach family and it’s rich in antioxidants, protein and fiber. I love the taste and texture. I have been making a big batch of quinoa each week to have with my meals instead of rice or pasta. (Just so you know, this “recipe” assumes you’ve already made some.)

Quorn is a vegetarian meat substitute derived from mushrooms. It’s my personal favorite of the “meat” crumbles. I get them at Whole Foods but sometimes I find them in our regular grocery stores, too. Morningstar crumbles also work for this recipe. If you’re a meat-a-tarian, I would imagine that you could also use ground turkey or beef.

Basically, I start by sauteeing diced onions and peppers in a little bit of olive or grapeseed oil in a frying pan. (Diced zucchini also occasionally makes a delicious appearance when I make this dish.) I let the veggies hang out by themselves for about 3-4 minutes, then I add the Quorn crumbles, a handful of walnut pieces, a splash of soy sauce and about a 1/4 cup of water. I cover and let it simmer, stirring occasionally for about 8ish minutes.

At the very end, I add my pre-made quinoa, stir it up for a minute over the heat and then chow down!

So fast and delicious!

What are your go-to quick meals?

2 thoughts on “Quinoa and Quorn

Leave a Reply

