Snapshots: Life and Inspiration

It’s Thursday. One more day until the glorious weekend.
It’s a shame to wish the week away, isn’t it?

This week, I went to an open mic, but didn’t get there in time to sign up. It was fun to hear other local musicians though. Especially these two and these two. I’m going to attempt to hit the local open mic circuit again to try out some of the new songs I’ve been working on. I’m a little excited about the prospect.

LIFE:

Yesterday, when walking to my car on my lunch break, the sky was such a brilliant blue. If I stretched back and looked straight up, I forgot that I was standing outside of a giant mall. It was a nice few seconds.

Also, right next to my car, I saw a family of Canadian Geese. A mom, a dad and three fuzzy little babies. Around here, Canadian Geese are seen as a nuisance. They’re EVERYWHERE and they leave poops ALL over the place.  Despite their bad rap, I have a bit of an affection for them. I like that they stay together as a family. The goose below walked right up and started hissing at me while I was taking his picture. I can’t blame him. He was just protecting his peeps.  Anyhoo, here are my pals:

INSPIRATION:

I’m a big fan of the little fabric rosette trend. I saw these guys on a loose flowy cotton vest at the store. I have a loose, flowy cotton vest at home and I’d like to attempt to spruce it up like the one below. I love refreshing items in my closet! I find that I’m drawn to blacks, greys and slatey browns lately. Makes getting dressed super easy in the morning!

I am also interested in figuring out how to re-fit some of my t-shirts using the technique below. I think I have an idea on how to do it and if I’m successful, I’ll post a tutorial about it! Hooray!

HELLTH:

Last but not least, I’m in need of a diet and exercise makeover.

I have been really lazy about what I’ve been eating since the surgery. (So dumb.) I have basically been living on fat and carbs (see picture below).
My clothes are tight and I get really moody when I eat a lot of junk food. (My husband will attest to this.)
I want to get back into a healthy routine. Starting next week, I’m going back to the gym 2-3 times a week and I’ll be plotting my food strategy over the next few days.

So expect some healthy updates each week and let me know if you’d like to join me!

Leave a Reply

