Persepolis


source
This month, my book club read Persepolis 1 and 2. I haven’t been this excited about a book in a long time.

This is my very first graphic “novel”! I am now wondering how I will ever read a regular book again! I use “novel” in quotes because this is actually a true-life account of the author’s coming of age during a time of political turmoil.

I knew practically nothing about the revolution in Iran before reading Persepolis. And while it is by no means a history book, it did help me to understand a little more about what happened during that time. Most importantly, it illustrated war at the most personal level. I couldn’t help but identify with Marjane and wonder how my own family would be affected.

At times the author touches upon universal coming-of-age, girl stuff – not fitting in, boys, dealing with obnoxious people. These are things that all of us have experienced at one time or another. At these points I forgot that her history is much more complicated than my own. I feel like for a moment, she forgets too.

Everyone I have spoken to who has read or is reading this book has fallen in love with it. It’s touching, heart-breaking, funny and clever at the same time. And… there’s also a MOVIE version. I haven’t seen it yet, but it’s at the top of my Netflix now.

I’d love to read another graphic novel very soon. Does anyone have any suggestions???

Also, if you’ve read the Persepolis books, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

6 thoughts on “Persepolis

  1. Hi there! I’m one of your Indie Biz classmates, and thought I’d pop over and visit your blog. 🙂

    I haven’t read too many graphic novels, but I really loved the ones I have read. My hands-down favorite has been Blankets by Craig Thompson.

  2. Hey There, I’m also in the Indie Biz class. I love these books, I am currently working on My Master’s In Ed and used these books as part of a Coming of Age Unit I designed for class. You are going to the film its amazing.
    Maus is a personal story about a young man learning about his father’s life during the Holocaust, it’s 2 volumes. It also adds a very personal story to a global historical event. It also focuses on the father and son relationship and their troubles.
    Arab in America is another graphic novel about an Arab man raised in the US and his struggle with finding his culturally identity and also how people reacted to him after 9/11. This novel provides information about the Gulf Wars I didn’t really know prior, but he tends to get a little whiny.

  3. Thanks Brooke, I’ve been meaning to check out Maus. I just need to be in the right mindframe I think. Arab in America sounds interesting too.
    Good luck with your Masters and see you in class!

  4. i lurve persepolis. i started to watch the movie but it was cartoony and i was tired and i didn’t watch it. that’s my amazing story. i did not however read persepolis2 and wondered what happened bc the first just ended with no closure for me. i will peep p2 then the movie. woot.

Leave a Reply

