Happytown: Cherry Blossoms.

I love cherry blossoms. I lovelovelovelovelovelovelove cherry blossoms.

I’ve been plotting a cherry blossom tattoo for years but have yet to come up with the right design. I wear cherry blossom perfume. A lot of my art centers around cherry blossoms AND we have antique cherry blossom stuff all over my house (courtesy of my husband!)

There is an annual cherry blossom festival at Branchbrook Park, which is close to Christinatown.

I remember going there as a kid. The park is lined with trees which explode in beautiful, rich pinks and bright whites. The flowers only last for a couple of weeks, so people from all over come to catch a glimpse.

So in anxious anticipation of warm weather and my favorite flower, I went hunting for some cherry blossom inspired goodies and pasted my findings below.  I hope you enjoy them!

1. Cherry Blossom vinyl purse from Kitty Empire.
2. Cherry Blossom Wren from SeaPinks
3. Two of my favorite things! An owl in a cherry blossom tree from Marlicat!
4. A hand-drawn cherry blossom pendant I made a couple of years ago. I am inspired to make some more!

5. Beautiful hand-painted teacups and saucers from MaryWibis.
6. Amber from Hoot-N-Annie’s has this ultra-cool iPhone case (… which of course, I needed to track down and purchase for myself…)
7. Me as a kid with my mom at the Cherry Blossom festival.
8. A picture from the Cherry Blossom festival last year right by my house! (Taken by moi)

PS – Does anyone else have obessions like this? Or am I totally insane?

3 thoughts on “Happytown: Cherry Blossoms.

  1. Awww… we were reading each others’ blogs and commenting at the same time.
    I LOVE that fabric!!!!!!!!! And birds. I can’t wait to see it (and the nursery) in person. Please let me know if you need help with anything!
    Perhaps I can craft a little birdiness for you.

  2. I’m drooling over the prospect of your craftiness getting all up in the new room! There’s no reason for concern quite yet, but I am developing a slight obsession with quirky fabrics. I found a pattern that swears it’s a cinch to make your own fitted sheets, which would mean I can avoid all the pastel pretty pink princess crap and also not pay $40 for cool ones on Etsy. Time will tell if that is in fact true.

    Also, you should totally make the trip down to DC for the National Cherry Blossom Festival. So worth it.

Leave a Reply

